Reviews



Lovely evening here yet again - Rating 5/5

Our 3rd or 4th stay &we enjoyed it very much as usual.Thanks for the hospitality, excellent food and comfortable room.

Reviewer:Sian D | Mon 9th Dec 2019 | 1 day ago


The Victorian Experience - Rating 5/5

Two friends and myself booked the Victorian Feast and overnight stay.We had a lovely welcome and enjoyed the warmth of our lovely room, to prepare for the Victorian themed evening. It is a lovely idea for those who love the chance to dress up and join another Century for a while.Our table was very festive and all the staff, in costume, were so friendly. We had a wonderful, if rather large! meal, the hot Punch and the pate were especially excellent. We had the whole evening to indulge, and then retired to our cosy room to a peaceful night's sleep.Breakfast was really good and overall, I would strongly recommend the experience to other guests ... go on, support the venture

Reviewer:Heather H | Wed 4th Dec 2019 | 6 days ago


Very happy- Rating 5/5

Loved our stay at the greyhound, we turned up on a cold day in November to chestnuts being roasted. Really nice atmosphere, and so accommodating we only stayed for one night and had to leave early on the Sunday morning the staff came in an hour early so our party could have breakfast before we left. Food was so good and they really looked after our little dog as much as they did us. We will definitely be booking here again.

Reviewer:Nicola M | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Relaxing Break- Rating 5/5

Just come back from a very enjoyable mini break at the Greyhound.We took our two whippets and found everything to our standard.comfortable beds lovely clean room , Kelly and her staff made us so very welcome .Had a couple of lovely meals in the bar and we will definitely make a return to this wonderful old coaching inn again .

Reviewer:Karen B | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Another Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Yet another lovely warm welcome from all the staff at the Greyhound, the food excellent and service second to none.We look forwards to visiting again very soon good luck with the Victorian Christmas theme it looks amazing.Martin &Kim

Reviewer:Martin J | Mon 11th Nov 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Fantastic, as always... - Rating 5/5

We had a very friendly welcome and the family room was perfect, with gorgeous views out of every window. The room and ensuite were very clean and the beds were comfortable. (I slept like a log). The breakfast was also amazing. 10 out of 10 for everything. Thank you. xx

Reviewer:sarah m | Mon 11th Nov 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Greyhound Nov 19 - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant hotel with great food and log fire atmosphere, a welcome relief to the "chain"hotel experience.. good selection of craft ales and Gins.very enjoyable stay.

Response

Thanks so much David for your great review, we really appreciate it and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:David B | Fri 8th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly Hotel and staff were all great.Our dog enjoyed her stay too.

Reviewer:MICHAEL G | Thu 7th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Comfortable - Rating 5/5

On my arrival I was warmly greeted by owner Kelly with her lovely welcoming smile.My room was clean and as always the pub was very cosy with a glowing log fire.My evening meal was very good and filling along with my breakfast.Really good.Thank you Kally,Steve and staff.

Response

Always great to see you Ken X

Reviewer:Ken B | Wed 6th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Autumn stay in Monmouthshire - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time at The Greyhound Inn and Hotel which offers a comprehensive package. Excellent accommodation with newly fitted bathrooms food that suits all tastes including vegetarian and is probably the best bar and restaurant for quality and price in the area. The inn also offers a comprehensive non-alcoholic drinks choice. Is in easy driving distance to visit Cardiff and cultural places like Monmouth, Abergavenny, Blaenavon and the local towns of Usk and Newport.With the staff more than obliging it is certainly a place we will be visiting again soon.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs B | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Much to applaud - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room and surprisingly quiet despite the adjacent dual carriageway to Monmouth. Steak at dinner was perfectly cooked and very tasty. Chef’s cheesecake disappointing and a bit stodgy . Breakfast freshly cooked and tasty also. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice old fashioned feel throughout the general rooms.Only criticism would be my en-suite bathroom whilst adequate was a bit cramped. And the routing to and from the Inn by my satnav had to be experienced to be believed! Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Bill W | Fri 1st Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


great food and friendly - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful meal and comfortable accommodation.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyable experience.

Reviewer:Ron L | Thu 31st Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely as ever - Rating 5/5

Well worth the visit, food is excellent and staff lovely

Reviewer:Nigel P | Thu 31st Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Brief return home - Rating 5/5

I was born and brought up in the Eastern Valley and have fond memories of the Greyhound and the surrounding area. Returning to one's roots after a long period is not always a positive experience but my wife and I loved every minute of this excellent short break. The owners and staff at the Greyhound are impeccable, the accommodation is very good when one has two dogs in tow and the atmosphere and welcome in the pub itself was second to none. We will return;happily prepared to make this a base for re-exploring this beautiful area.

Response

It was lovely to meet you and thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review, we do really appreciate it.We hope that you will visit us again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Paul J | Tue 29th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent stay - Rating 4/5

The service, food and room were excellent. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, However our bed definitely needed to be upgraded.

Reviewer:Gail W | Wed 23rd Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent customer service at reception, good food and rooms very comfortable.

Reviewer:Arleen D | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Weekend visit! - Rating 5/5

A wonderful overnight stay!!All the staff were helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Our accommodation was superb with plenty of room for us and our three dogs. Clean, warm and very comfortable. The description of The Greyhound Inn puts it all in a nutshell. Spot on. We certainly will be staying there again!!!

Response

Thank you ever so much for your fabulous review, we are so pleased that you loved you stay and really do hope that you will make a return visit.Glasses are in the post as we speak :)Thanks again and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:Mrs B | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

2 friends touring Wales for a week, stayed at the inn for the first night. Enjoyed it so much, changed our plans for the last night and booked the Greyhound Inn again. Think that says it all !Excellent, have already recommended to friends.

Response

You were both wonderful guests to host and thank you so much for coming back to visit on your trip back home.We do really hope that you come back to Wales soon.Take care, it was lovely to meet you both.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:Jennifer T | Fri 11th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Great Dog friendly place - Rating 5/5

From the start the staff made us feel as though they really cared about us and our dogThe rooms were clean and well equipped with nice little touches like chocolates and bottled water.On the ground floor we had doors that opened out on to a residents garden area with our own patio seating area.A good traditional pub building dogs are allowed into the top bar. Food was of a good quality with plenty of choice.Outside at night the beautiful grounds were lit up by fairy lights giving a wonderful atmosphere and a box of blankets were supplied if you were a little chilly but still wished to sit out.Dog owners had their own breakfast area so the dogs could accompany them and have their very own sausage for breakfastTo sum up the staff cared and tried with many little touches to make the Greyhound welcoming.

Reviewer:R | Thu 10th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at the Greyhound;the rooms are clean and spacious andhave everything you need,. The pub is fab - good atmosphere, food and drink. The thing that made the stay outstanding though was the staff who went out of their way to help- from an early breakfast to prtinting off a document late at night for us - nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Kim H | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


A perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We had such a lovely time here. The staff are all excellent, very accommodating and always wearing big smiles! The rooms are very comfortable, good value. The pub itself is lovely, so welcoming and atmospheric. The food is very high quality - huge portions, we did not go hungry! Drinks were all great and reasonably priced. Beer was super. Thanks for a great stay, we hope to return.

Reviewer:Kirstin V | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Instant relaxation - Rating 5/5

Lovely accommodation, delicious food, good bar!The staff could not have been more helpful. Recommended 100%

Response

It was lovely to meet you both, just sorry that it was understand sad circumstances.We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.Thank you for the lovely review, we do appreciate it.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Mr V | Sat 5th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Greyhound - the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the rooms in the separate accommodation block were well-furnished and comfortable and the food was excellent. And the bar was full of local people, several of whom were chatty and friendly without being pushy. Definitely an excellent place to stay, and congratulations to the owners who have made it what it is.

Reviewer:Armorel Y | Tue 1st Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent find - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely two night stay here and were made to feel most welcome along with our dog. The hotel is genuinely dog friendly with bowls, towels and a breakfast sausage supplied. The room itself was clean, well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked as were our evening meals, there is plenty of choice on the restaurant menu and very reasonably priced. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. The bar has an excellent selection of drinks including a very local real ale. We will definitely be staying here again.

Reviewer:Bill S | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Golfers Review - Rating 4/5

We always enjoy our stay at the Greyhound and in particular the cheerful, helpful staff.There were no negatives and plenty of positives especially the meals.Well done.Keith murray

Reviewer:Keith MurrayGolf P | Fri 27th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


superb - Rating 5/5

great place to stay excellent food and accomadationgreat surroundings friendly staff

Reviewer:Robert E | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Greyhound inn - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Greyhound 4 times now and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and approachable.The food is good and the cleanliness of the rooms and the new shower and toilet areas as well as comfortable beds made for a very pleasant stay.If we had been able to stay for longer we would have enjoyed a drink in the inns beautiful gardens. We will definitely be booking another stay

Reviewer:Maria F | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Weekend in the country - Rating 4/5

Clean and spacious room though lighting is a bit poor for reading.Very friendly staff.Good breakfast and tasty evening meal.

Reviewer:Yvonne C | Thu 19th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Still Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 nights en route to &from West Wales and just as impressed as on our previous stays in June. Kelly and staff unfailingly friendly, cheerful and helpful, even on a very busy Saturday evening. Food excellent, rooms spotless and comfortable, dog suitably crooned over;3 very satisfied customers, we shall be back. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Thomas S | Wed 18th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent place and services! - Rating 5/5

We have booked for an overnight stay with our dog, can’t fault for anything. Form the location, staff, services, room, food. Definitely go back again. 10 out of 10 from us.

Reviewer:Haibin D | Tue 17th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


A few days away- Rating 4/5

All the staff are very friendly and helpful.The food is very good and cooked breakfast is prepared to order. The bedrooms are nice,but there is a busy road close by which can be heard. The showeroom was very modern, but water pressure not good. On our first day the bin was not emptied and for all our stay the showeroom was not cleaned. I would probably stay again, even so, as you get used to the road noise.

Reviewer:Ann B | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent hotel- Rating 5/5

Great stay room clean and plenty big enough lovely shower plenty of hot water Great place to stay dogs were made very welcome nothing to much trouble. Staff very helpful food was really good we had the trout and it was delicious.Good choice at breakfast and dogs were able to join us in smaller part of dining area, Grounds were great for dogs plenty of off road parking.Would highly recommend the Greyhound Hotel.10 out of 10.We will be visiting again.

Reviewer:Jacky S | Wed 11th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


OUR FAVOURITE PLACE TO STAY IN WALES - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a short break at the Greyhound.We have visited several times and look forward to our next visit. Lovely clean rooms, friendly staff and a hearty breakfast.The location and gardens are stunning, Kelly &Steve and all the staff are helpful, warm and friendly - what's not to like.

Reviewer:John S | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


A little gem - Rating 5/5

Once again so lovely to have such a lovely smiling welcome from Kelly, so nice that she remembers you. Must also say thanks to Jess. Rooms excellent, and food is absolutely wonderful.

Reviewer:Nigel P | Sat 7th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Once again a fab night away with family . Loving the new bathroom!! . Food was all delicious no complaints at all 100% service x

Reviewer:Mrs M | Tue 3rd Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome, good food and a cosy room for very reasonable price. The gardens at the front are very pretty for a drink before dinner. Thank you to all the staff.

Reviewer:Jane W | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


First Leg of our Journey - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. Also great for our dog. So much attention to detail for dogs. Beautiful room and surroundings. Staff very attentive but not over the top. Food was delicious. Overall would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Angela Jane H | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


A great little country pub with excellent accommodation. - Rating 5/5

Excellent in all aspects.Room was clean and well presented with a lovely new bathroom.Evening meal was good as well as the breakfast.

Reviewer:Peter J | Sat 24th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


What a find - Rating 4/5

Such a pretty country pub. Staff so friendly &helpful. Accommodation,nice very clean and spacious. The only negative was the noise from a major road behind trees &pub so to open a window would be noisy ! However window closed no noise but hot .Breakfast very good

Reviewer:Linda B | Sat 24th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Stay 18-20th August. - Rating 5/5

As previously, our recent stay on 18-20th August was excellent.The staff as usual were friendly and helpful, the food excellentand the new showers a very good addition to the rooms. The dogs also enjoyed their stay, especially their sausage treats from the staff!We look forward to seing you again.

Reviewer:Dr Debra G | Wed 21st Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely welcoming inn - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome thanks Kelly for that caring touch.

Reviewer:Nigel P | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


If you have a dog this is the place to go - Rating 4/5

Charming country pub with converted stables as rooms.Large car park and super gardens. Excellent cooked food. The dogs are treated like guests which is great.The negatives are that there’s a motorway running along side that is very noisy. When you walked in the room the smell of air freshener was overpowering ( obviously to remove the smell of dogs) they use the plug in type and we had to remove it and open all the windows and doors as it was so strong. The cooked breakfast was lovely but there was nothing else but cornflakes, juice and toast. I asked if there was any yogurts or fruit but it had all gone and we weren’t the last ones down.These are minor negatives but overall a great place if you have a dog.

Reviewer:D | Thu 8th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Relaxing Stay at The Greyhound - Rating 4/5

Myself, my wife and our dog recently had a 2 night stay. The room and facilities were very good, especially our room opening onto the garden - just perfect for our chocolate labrador Joe. The staff were welcoming and very friendly, and very dog friendly. Slightly let down by the quality of the food. We would return though.

Reviewer:Mr B | Thu 8th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


29 Jul - 1 Aug 2019 - Rating 5/5

Very Friendly StaffGreat AccommodationFantastic FoodThoroughly enjoyed my stay :)

Reviewer:Marcus L | Fri 2nd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Have stayed 3 times before and will return again. Excellent all around.

Reviewer:Karen O | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Good service and pleasant staff

Reviewer:Nigel P | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Delightful Inn with helpful staff - Rating 4/5

I had a delightful stay, your hotel is charming and the staff, especially Sam, were helpful at all times. My room was comfortable and clean if a bit noisy from the traffic on the motorway. The only disadvantage was if like me you haven't any transport. I must have spent over 100 pounds on taxis in two days!Perhaps you could have someone who works for you who does a special rate?

Reviewer:Francis C | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Overnight Stop - Rating 5/5

Really friendly staff. Rooms are modern but with original features, food is excellent. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Michael H | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Attractive old country inn with gorgeous gardens. - Rating 4/5

We found the room pleasant and quiet despite the proximity of a major road. Lovely comfy bed and a great traditional English breakfast. All the staff were pleasant and helpful.I did think the dinner menu was unimaginative and a bit boring however this is a busy place and very popular so it pleased a lot of people.

Reviewer:Diane L | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Escape to the Country - Rating 5/5

We spend a memorable stay in the Greyhound,the rooms were delightful (fantastic showers)food was good, service good (we loved the bubbly Amanda who looked after us at Breakfast)and we enjoyed a long chat with Tony on the Wednesday after supper.Must mention the lovely Cherry Jam and Marmalade made by Steve delicious.

Reviewer:Mr H | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Very warm welcome! - Rating 5/5

Thank you to Kelly, her whole family, and her dedicated team for making our few days at the Inn a wonderful experience. The team work hard to ensure that nothing is amiss.

Reviewer:Belinda C | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Great Dog Friendly Pub - Rating 5/5

Freindly staff, nice room and good location for exploring Usk. Benji loved the sausage treat in the morning. He would love to write a review, hasn't quite learnt how to type with his paws, very waggy tail though!

Reviewer:Andrew M | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


A wonderful one night stay! - Rating 5/5

We found the Greyhound Inn absolutely perfect for our overnight stay with our dog.The rooms were cosy and quiet and had everything you could need. I made a lovely cup of tea and had ginger biscuits with it.The bathroom was sparkly clean and lovely and bright.We enjoyed supper on the lawn and then a full English breakfast in the morning.The homemade fudge given to us as we left was very welcome too.We would definitely come again if we were in the area.Kelly was really friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Peter S | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Kelly and team made feel welcome and delivered excellent customer service. The overnight stay in their newly refurbished room was of of a very high standard, excellent value for money. Breakfast was cooked to perfection using local produce and home made marmalade and jams absolutely delicious!! Service quick and friendly whole team very attentive. The Greyhound pub is beautiful in a stunning setting, we will be back. Thankyou for lovely weekend it was a great birthday treat.

Reviewer:Jill W | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely to be back and enjoyed being at Greyhound again.The gardens with the super display of summer flowers is an added bonus.Only disappointment was the Caesar Salad, my favourite, was not up to standard.Otherwise the owners and staff were superb.

Response

Fabulous to see you again Brenda and I am sorry that your didn\'t enjoy your salad. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.Take care and please send our best to your husband.Kelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:Brenda H | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


An Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is the best Hotel that my wife and I have ever stayed at.The bedroom was superb, surrounding grounds and gardens lovely and the Staff friendly and attentive.We would love to revisit The Greyhound in the future.

Response

It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased that you enjoyed The Greyhound.We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.Take care and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:K | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Overnight stsy - Rating 5/5

Little off the beaten track but worth it.Grest room in lovely surroundings with gorgeous food. Highly recommended

Response

Thanks so much for your great review, we do really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back to The Greyhound again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:Iain W | Fri 5th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Very good- Rating 4/5

Overall very positive experience. Rooms clean, tidy and well presented. Staff were pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The food was a little shy of the other excellent standards but still had a reasonable meal both nights and certainly wouldn't stop us from returning. Great location to enjoy the beautiful surrounding areas.

Response

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we are pleased that overall you had a great stay.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:Simon B | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


A Gem - Rating 5/5

The Greyhound is a gem. A picturesque and historic pub full of character and atmosphere with modern and very comfortable rooms in an adjacent building with french windows onto private patio and immaculate and very pretty gardens. Staff very helpful, friendly and attentive (particularly to the dog!), food excellent. Stayed two nights en route to &from West Wales and look forward to returning. Highly recommended. Tom Sneddon

Response

Thank you for giving us such a great review, it was lovely to meet you and do hope that you will visit us again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:T J S | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, friendly staff and super comfortable accommodation, ( lovely shower)Only stayed one night, wished it could have been longer. Highly recommend!

Response

Thanks so much for the great review, we do appreciate it and hope that you will visit us again.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:Hilary N | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


excellent- Rating 5/5

In each category you scored 5 star on our first visit and each time we visit your still 5 star.you cant improve.

Response

AhhThanks so much Colin, that is very sweet, it is always lovely to welcome you both.Take care and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Colin S | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

the Greyhound Inn was perfect for us to break our journey from North Wales to Cornwall. the accommodation was comfortable and separate from the Inn. Our evening meal in the Inn was very good as was breakfast. All staff were excellent. The gardens even in the rain were a blaze 0f colour. Would use it again if in the area.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:david h | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely 2 day stay at the Greyhound Inn, which we booked specifically as it was 'dog friendly'. We were not disappointed.The staff were very friendly and welcoming.The room was clean, cosy and nicely presented with direct access to the garden.Breakfast was perfect and best of all, our dog received lots of fuss and attention. this was a perfect base to explore the area.We would choose to stay there again.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review.We do really appreciate it and do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Wendy W | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place brilliant staff will definatley visit again

Response

Thanks Bridget - lovely to have met you both and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Bridget H | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

One of the best dog friendly hotels we’ve ever stayed in.Excellent service and beautiful food.Thank you so much- we will be returning x

Response

Thanks so much for the great review and really hope that we do see you again.Take care and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Kirstie E | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Our stay at the Greyhound - Rating 5/5

Our booking was a last minute thing, it could not of been better,the room was great, location great, the staff great, we arrived late but was offered food if we wanted it ( a first for me). information from bar staff as where to go and what to see was good.returning on my motorbike in September

Response

Thank you so much ray for your fabulous review, we really do appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back in September.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Ray B | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


poppy Loved The Bar and Gardens - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay, Dog Friendly and good food. Will stay again next time we visit Family in Wales

Response

It was great to meet you and we are so chuffed that you enjoyed your stay with us.Look forward to seeing you again.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Richard G | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Best customer service - Rating 5/5

Thank you Kelly for listening and trying to resolve the issue, unfortunately these things happen. As you are aware I will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Nigel P | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Weekend at the greyhound- Rating 5/5

Brilliant what more can we say

Response

It is always lovely when we have guests stay for multiple nights and really become part of the place.It was a pleasure to meet you both and of course Dexter!I am really sorry that we couldn\'t accommodate your August dates but hope that you can fit another visit in with us in the near future.Take care and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Terry S | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Great country Inn - Rating 5/5

The Greyhound Inn is set in an isolated spot with lovely countryside views. The Inn has its own well maintained gardens and plenty of on site parking. As before we had a warm welcome enjoying a great evening meal before a good nights sleep. The next morning a hearty breakfast was just the thing to set us on our way. Overall a very good place to visit/stay and very good value - thank you

Response

Thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review Graham.We really appreciate it and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope to see you again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Graham B | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

The location was charming, the room was comfortable and clean and the staff helpful and friendly

Reviewer:Brian D | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Stay for 2 nights. - Rating 5/5

I booked the Greyhound as I do not like the major Hotels.I was not disappointed as I was greeted by the owners Kelly and Steve and made very welcome.Allthe staff and local clients were very friendly and it was exactly what I wanted for my comfortable stay.If I am working in Cardiff again I will not hesitate in booking The Greyhound again.The breakfast and evening meals were very freshly cooked and plentifulLovely.I will be back.

Response

It was really lovely to meet you Ken, it is always fabulous when our guests fully integrate with the pub, the team and the locals.Hope to see you again.Best wishesKelly, Steve, the rest of the team, Dave, Ivor and Ian (Neil) XXand of course Harry the Shih Tzu

Reviewer:Ken B | Wed 5th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


A rare gem in a beautiful location - Rating 5/5

Kelly, and her friendly team, made us extremely welcome. The main building has a lovely quirky character with traditional features. All the food, and attention were first class. The Greyhound is obviously popular with clients far and near. We definitely hope to return.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review.We do really appreciate it.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Gordon C | Tue 28th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

My 3rd visit to The Greyhound Inn and I would definitely return Very friendly clean inn A great location plenty of safe parking lovely grounds to sit and relax

Response

Thanks David for taking the time to post a review.We really do appreciate it and loved your comments.Thank you.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:David S | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great Inn and Hotel - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay.Really nice accommodation - loved the garden rooms where we could take the dog straight out into the lovely gardens from our room. Good food and great staff, including Harry the Schitzu. Will visit again.

Response

Love it that Harry has had a mention.Thank you for the kind comments and we do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Marianne M | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 6 months ago


Wonderful spot to visit - Rating 5/5

Friendly,helpful,and great food

Response

Thank you for the review, we do appreciate it.take care and we hope to welcome you back again.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Charles R | Mon 20th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Greyhound- Rating 5/5

This was one of the best pubs we have stayed on. Staff and owners went over and above to make us welcome.Rooms were very up to date and meals were excellent. I would recommend to anyone travelling in this part of Wales.Only negative was creaking floor in unit above but if patrons had been aware they not have been so reckless after coming in after midnight.

Response

Thank you ever so much for such a lovely review and it was fabulous to see the words very up to date on the back of the new bathrooms.I am only sorry that you were kept awake from upstairs.we don\'t usually have people staying who are still up and about after midnight, so I do apologise if this did keep you awake.We hope to welcome you back in the future.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Richard J | Mon 20th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Dogs very welcome - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome from the time we arrived util we left. Staff very friendly and efficient. Lovely room over looking the garden with it's own terrace, shame it rained. Everything your best friend could need provided, even his own breakfast. Would recommend if you are travelling with a dog.

Response

Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review.We do appreciate it and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.As you could tell, we are a little dog mad and the more we meet, the more dog mad we become!! XThanks again and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Marcia A | Sun 19th May 2019 | 6 months ago


A Sunday stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room and friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and Sunday lunch.We will be returning soon!

Response

Thank you so much for a great review, we really do appreciate it.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:paul l | Wed 8th May 2019 | 7 months ago


Greyhound Inn Feedback- Rating 5/5

Absolutely amazing stay at your beautiful and very picturesque inn. Everything about our stay was exceptional from the welcome,the quality and cleanliness of the bedroom and the hospitality you as hosts showed us throughout our stay.The dinner and breakfast were of the highest quality and as dog owners the efforts you went to to make our two little dogs welcome was again exceptionalThank you for everything and we hope to return soon

Response

Thanks so much for such a lovely review, we all really appreciate it.We do hope that we can welcome you back soon.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mrs D | Wed 8th May 2019 | 7 months ago


What a lovely stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time at the Greyhound. They were very accommodating. We were booked in for the Monday evening. Due to circumstance, we were no longer able to make it. However, when we called at short notice on the Friday they were happy to change our room so that we could stay on the Sunday instead. We enjoyed are stay, comfy room with a sparkling new bathroom. Beautiful views and garden area with a great team of staff. Thank you all at the Greyhound.

Response

It was lovely to meet you and really glad that we could help.Good luck with the new job.Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review, we do appreciate it.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs W | Tue 7th May 2019 | 7 months ago


Engagement Meal & Stay over - Rating 5/5

We had our engagement meal with close Family &stayed the night. Throughout the year we visit the Greyhound for birthdays or get together meals, the staff are very welcoming, food was amazing as it always is &the accommodation was clean &comfortable. We love the atmosphere within the Greyhound &the beautiful surroundings. Everyone said what a lovely time they had. Thank you to Kelly &the team for making our Engagement meal so special. We will be returning soon.

Response

Again many congratulations !!it is always lovely to think that The Greyhound will be part of your life long memories.Hope to see you again soon.Thanks for taking the time to post a review, it does mean a lot.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Jessica S | Mon 6th May 2019 | 7 months ago


break - Rating 5/5

Excellent foodExcellent accomodationHope to return

Response

Thanks for taking the time to post a great review, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound team X

Reviewer:Colin S | Sun 5th May 2019 | 7 months ago


What a hidden gem! - Rating 5/5

We came to the greyhound as a last minute trip for my wife's 30th. The staff were fantastic! Really warm and very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Food was fab and the accomodation was quaint but lovely.Would recommend and will be staying here again!

Response

Thanks ever so much for posting a great review and we are really chuffed that you had such a great time.Hope to see you again soon.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Joshua P | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


- Rating 0/5

Excellent hospitality, combining helpful friendly and courteous members of staff.Nothing, we felt was too much trouble..

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review, we really do appreciate it and hope that you will visit us again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Hugh R | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


great stay as always - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for the weekend, always a lovely welcome andgreat food andbreaksfast, lovethenew decor in room 1.The owner kellywith a greatwelsh accentsee youin september loveemma and andrea

Response

Thanks Emma and Andrea.Great to see you and thanks for the review.by the time you come back, all bathrooms should be finished.take careKelly, Steve and the rest of the team

Reviewer:Emma W | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


An oasis ! - Rating 5/5

We 3 (couple and dog) all loved our stay. Great welcome, lovely staff, large and lovely room, nice food and good selection of drinks, pretty and immaculate garden. Thankyou :0)

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great review and I really love the title.Thank you!We do really appreciate it.We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Greyhound in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:louise t | Thu 25th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


The Perfect stay that comes with a Health Warning!- Rating 5/5

My husband and I accompanied by our dog, have stayed at the Greyhound on numerous occassions, our little gem of a bolthole, whilst in the area visiting family. We are NEVER disappointed. Kelly and her team are so personable and really care about getting things right for their customers. Each stay, our room is always clean and welcoming and now we have a new bathroom to look forward to for our next visit! (The Greyhound is currently undergoing refurbishment of all 10 bathrooms over coming months). Our Easter break was just perfect. The Sunday roast was so tasty and plentiful and every customer was given a little Easter egg treat from the Easter bunny! Such a lovely touch which just makes ones stay all that more special. Family visited, booking in for an overnight stay too and we all sat out on the patio overlooking the beergarden where people just relaxed and enjoyed the weather and pretty surroundings, there was such a great atmosphere, really memorable.Breakfast was relaxed and our every need catered for, delicious!Yet more family visited the following evening and enjoyed supper from the varied menu, no-one was disappointed with their choices.The Greyhound Inn should come with a health warning because once tried one becomes addicted!

Response

Thank you so much for the fabulous review.I love the health warning bit, you are very kind and it is always a pleasure to welcome you to The Greyhound.Take care and hope to see you soon.Thanks again.Kelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:Debbie O | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


A Break in The Forest of Dean - Rating 5/5

Just back from a short visit, for 2 nights,it was a pleasure from start to finish.the owners were fantastic, as were their staff. their lovely little girl &Harry the dog, were part of the team too. accommodation, are in lovely lodge rooms, set in beautiful gardens, adjacent to the Inn, Hotel,Food is excellent and homemade.my little Dog,Rupertwas made very welcome. Icing on the cake was the weather. Glorious Sun.We will return, thank you so much

Response

It was fabulous to meet the 3 of you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the weekend and do hope to see you again.Frankie (my daughter is over the moon to have had a mention!) Thank you xTake care and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team.

Reviewer:Davine J | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Married couple with dog - Rating 4/5

Our room was warm,comfortable and clean .Garden was immaculately maintained .All staff made ourselves and our collie dog very welcome.Enjoyed our three day stay whilst visiting family and local tourist sights.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review, we really do appreciate it and hope that you will visit us again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs R | Sat 13th Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Great find - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for one night on our way to Cardiff and found a little gem. The welcome by Kelly was great and once we had taken our bags to our room we went to the bar for a much needed drink. Again we found everyone to be friendly and welcoming. The room in the stable block was clean, tidy and warm with the added bonus of being able to acces the terrace outside. Although the bathroom was very small it was adequate with good water pressure in the shower. Evening meal in the restaurant was good and tasty with prompt and friendly service as was breakfast the next day. Would definitely stay here again in the future if we were n the area.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it. I was especially chuffed with the water pressure feedback, as this had been an issue in the past and we seem to have sorted it.We have just this week started our bathroom project, so the first of 10 new bathrooms will be completed by Wednesday of next week.We are going with showers only, so this will make the bathrooms bigger.We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:W. W. J | Thu 11th Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great host and staff, good food and very comfortable rooms all at a reasonable price.We will be definitely staying here again.

Response

Thank you very much for such a great review, we really do appreciate it and do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Graham L | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Another Great Experience - Rating 5/5

Our second visit here and we could not have chosen better. Once again we were given a great welcome from Kelly, Steve and all their wonderful staff who made our stay (3 days) something to remember. We can't fault the place and if you are a dog owner, look no further. Thank you Kelly, Steve and all the staff and we will be seeing you again soon.

Response

It was fabulous to see you again, just a shame that it was under such sad circumstances.It is always a pleasure to welcome you to The Greyhound.See you soon.Kelly X

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs E | Fri 29th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Greyhound Inn - Rating 4/5

Very friendly staff and excellent food.Have the steak and kidney pie its special.An enjoyable stay.

Response

Thank you for posting a great review, we do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back for the Steak & Kidney pie again in the near future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr S | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We got recommended to the Greyhound 2 years ago, and have stayed here a few times, it's a fantastic place to stay. Rooms are clean , food is top quality, and staff are very warm and welcoming, nothing is too much.

Response

Thank you for such a fab review, really appreciate it and we are so happy that you enjoy staying with us so much.Take care and Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr M | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Rest Bite - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed the stay,very friendly,good food clean and comfortable

Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we do appreciate every review we get.We hope that you will return.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:john P | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Couple and their dog - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Lovely and warm and lots of doggy bits in the room. Very dog friendly.Great food in the evening and a lovely breakfast.

Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a great review, we really do appreciate it and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Simon S | Fri 15th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Great staff and an amazing breakfast

Response

Thanks Jeffery, hope to see you again soonBest wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:JEFFREY P | Thu 14th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


I love this place - Rating 5/5

It may be 130 miles from where we live, but we just love the Greyhound Inn. Super staff, super food and super rooms all in a super setting.

Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it and hope to see you again.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:David S | Sun 10th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


Always a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

the Greyhound is my preferred choice when travelling on business to Cwmbran. Everyone is hugely welcoming, the food's great and Wifi works well both in the pub and accommodation. What's not to like?

Response

Thanks so much Rob for taking the time to post such a great review.I am sorry that I missed you this visit and hope to catch up again soon.Best wishesKelly X

Reviewer:Rob N | Fri 8th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Lovely room. Amazing food and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Will definitely be back. Thankyou

Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.We really do appreciate it.Hope to welcome you back again soon.Take care and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:John L | Sat 16th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Cosy countryside pub - Rating 4/5

I found the Greyhound to be attractively laid out with open fires and cozy bars.The food was good and I stayed a night. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.I would stay again.

Response

Thanks for the great review, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back again soon.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Geoff M | Fri 8th Feb 2019 | 10 months ago


Recent Visit to Wales - Rating 5/5

We (and our dog) could not have found a better place to stay during our recent visit to Wales. Perfect for dog owners with everything provided, bed, bowls, towels and treats, not to mention great gardens to play in.You are immediately made welcome by all the friendly staff, the food, including breakfast, was excellent as was the accommodation. Wish we had you as a local!Thank you Kelly, Steve and all your great team for making our stay so comfortable and we hope to be back in May.

Response

It was fabulous to meet you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and really look forward to seeing you again in the future.Take care and best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs E | Fri 1st Feb 2019 | 10 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

besides the excellent food and selection of beverages, my stay was cosy and very relaxed. If I’m ever in the area again I will definitely go back. The staff where extremely inviting and helpful.

Response

Thank you so much for posting such a great review, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you visit us again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Phillip F | Thu 31st Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Amazing!!! - Rating 5/5

Booked as a Birthday treat for afamily member they really enjoyed, room was lovely as was the staff.Took their pet Labrador aswell and they made them feel very welcome, they would definitely recommend and will be returning. thanks

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.We really do appreciate it and we are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed it so much.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Merrian S | Wed 23rd Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Mini break close enough to Cardiff but out in the beautiful countryside - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights at the Greyhound Inn, my husband and I, our daughter, who is studying at Cardiff Uni and our black labrador.We enjoyed a very pleasant stay here, our labrador didn't want to leave! She was very pampered and enjoyed joining us when we had breakfast because she had some sausage and the Stable bar was a cosy and very friendly (humans and other dogs) place with dog treats and a log burner! Wonderful walks right on the doorstep or you could drive on up into the heart of the Brecon Beacons within an hour and enjoy the lovely scenery on the way. Special diet requests were catered for, they have a book with categories for nut sufferers, gluten free, vegan and so on so you can eat without being nervous! Our double bed was very comfortable but, as my husband moves alot in his sleep, did bounce about a bit like a water bed so I had to spend the second night in the single bed (our daughter only stayed one night). We think we will book twin beds next time and push them together! The garden is open and the back of it has thick hedging but there is a busy A road just behind it so, unless you trust your dog not to wonder through, you should ask whether you can use the private fenced in garden or just keep them on a lead. Theshower water leaked onto the floor, just a small minor point as the water was very hot and showering was lovely! The room was very cosy and warm and the tv in just the right place to watch a good film. Kelly, the owner and her staff gave us 5 star treatment, nothing was too much trouble and they were very attentive and friendly. We will definitely be returning, our labrador will ensure that! Thank you to Kelly and the team!

Response

Hi Jane,Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review.We really do appreciate it and it was lovely to meet you all.Wishing your daughter the best in Uni and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Jane D | Tue 22nd Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Electric car friendly - Rating 5/5

Always a great place to stay with a dog and now with an electric car. It was great to plug the car in and recharge it while we slept.

Response

Dear Mr & Mrs King, thank you again for taking the time to post a review.we do really appreciate it and always look forward to welcoming such lovely guests to the Greyhound.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs K | Mon 21st Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Once again a fabulous New Year's EveFollowed by staying the night. Would thoroughly recommend. Looking forward to sampling the much talked aboutSunday roast in the near futuremany thanks to Kelly and all staff.

Response

Thank you so much for joining us.It is always the people that make it.Happy New Year to you guys again and thank you for taking the time to post a review.We really do appreciate it.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team X

Reviewer:Rogers / G | Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 11 months ago


New Years Eve - Rating 5/5

Thank you all for a wonderful time at New Years Eve ! The food , service and band were all excellent as was the warmth of the welcome. Many thanks for such a memorable evening.happy 2019!

Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It is always the people that make a great party.Band is already booked for next year.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Team X

Reviewer:delyth r | Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 11 months ago


Warm welcome- Rating 5/5

Lovely beer. Warm welcome. Great food. Fab service. Will return

Reviewer:nick w | Sun 9th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Return visit - Rating 5/5

Just great to return to this lovely inn. Set in lovely surroundings it’s a jewel within easy driving of Cardiff and Newport. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Good selection of real ales, wines and beers and the food is fantastic. A great place to stay for the rugby (like we did) or for a longer trip. Gardens are pictureque and must be beautiful in summer but also with heaters so winter is also nice for eating and drinking outside. Wonderful. We will be back👍

Response

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review.It was great to meet you both and do hope to welcome you back again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Peter S | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Very welcoming - Rating 4/5

Everything went to plan and the room was warm and comfortable.Staff very good

Reviewer:Jacqui T | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Something quite special. - Rating 5/5

We always look forward to a stay at The Greyhound. Friendly greeting on arrival before being taken to our lovely, cosy room. We have never been disappointed with any of the rooms we have stayed in with our dog. On this occasion we didn't stay for a meal as we were visiting family for a suprise party but our breakfast the following morning was just delicious and Ellie our little waitress was delightful. The gardens are very country cottage and are transformed into something magical by night. We are booked in for a few days over Christmas and we really are looking forward to it. Thankyou.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review.Ellie is over the moon to have received a mention.Thank you and looking forward to seeing you at Christmas.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Debra O | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


It’s a lovely place, with excellent food and service is all top class. - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous time over 2 nights, our room was very clean and well decorated.The breakfast is amongst the best I come across and is baking hot.Kelly and her team are beautiful people who do a great job.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great review, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:mr d | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant break - Rating 5/5

Perfect setting, friendly and helpful staff and superb food.Nothing else to be said.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review, we do really appreciate it and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Ian W | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Family Favourite - Rating 5/5

Always stay here when in the area visiting family, our favourite, cosy, familiar and a family run business x

Reviewer:Sally S | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


2day stay at the greyhound inn Nr usk- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay everything wasvery very good many thanks we will be backmike

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review, we really do appreciate it.It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you back at the Greyhound again soon.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team

Reviewer:m l | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


2day stay at the greyhound inn Nr usk- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay everything wasvery very good many thanks we will be backmike

Reviewer:m l | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Nice sized and quiet room. Facilities good and food excellent. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Martin F | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Warm welcome, very dog friendly and great food - Rating 4/5

We stayed for one nigjt only and felt very welcome with our GSD. Both evening meals and breakfast were very good and the beer was well kept too.Despite the welsh weather we had a great time!

Reviewer:Charles B | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

Another splendid stay

Reviewer:steve d | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A Happy Return! - Rating 4/5

Have enjoyed staying at 'The Greyhound ' many times in the past under the previous owner and was certainly not disappointed this time. Excellent evening meal.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we really do appreciate it and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope to see you again in the near future.Best wishesKelly. Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Jeff W | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Exceptional Experience - Rating 5/5

This has to be one of the most welcoming places I have stayed and beautiful on the eye too.The owner could not do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible.I have very high standards and I often find faults, but this place was very clean and exceptional for its price point.Lots of nice little touches included, chocolates and nice biscuits in the room and fudge at checkout.The evening meal was of a very high standard, we had Cod and Chips.Oh and... when a venue polishes the copper on the urinals in the gents, you know they have an eye for detail.

Reviewer:Steven A | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Birthday celebration - Rating 4/5

Thank you for a lovely weekend we have fantastic family memories of our stay at your hotel

Response

Thank you so much for choosing The Greyhound for your celebrations, we really do appreciate it and it was fabulous to have you and your family here.Hope to see you again soon.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Denise T | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


QUALITY IN THE COUNTRY - Rating 5/5

Very well run country inn/hotel. Good choice of food, warm welcome from owner and her staff, most attractive and well kept grounds.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we really do appreciate it and it was lovely to meet you.We hope to welcome you back one day.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Ian M | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Review of Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel in a stunning location. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and arranged a secure location for my bicycle. The food too was excellent.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review, we really do value it and hope that we can welcome you back again one day.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Matthew P | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


I must stay longer next time - Rating 5/5

I stayed over on my way home from an interview. What a great little place, located in a beautiful area. Great room, nice food and really friendly staff and locals. Ill come back for a longer visit next year.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back in the future hopefully.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Anita B | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Ver accomodating - Rating 4/5

We were concerned about the noise from the very nearby dual carriageway. We didn’t need to be. Secondary double glazing coped well.Staff very friendly. Our dinner and breakfast were good.The gardens lit at night time were very pretty. A good value for money stay and well situated.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.We really do appreciate it.We especially appreciate your comments on the secondary double glazing as these too work very well against the road noise.Thanks again and hope to welcome you back in the future.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Stephen G | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Greyhound Hotel - Rating 4/5

A very welcoming hotel, especially for our dogs. A great place to break a journey and it was good to hear about the future plans for the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed a hearty beef casserole, although the choice of vegetables was far too limited for our taste. The breakfast was excellent, with homemade jams and delicious local yogurts, as well as a hearty 'full English'.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you again to the Greyhound.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:S | Fri 17th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Returning to Usk - Rating 4/5

Visiting the last of my mothers sisters in Cardiff and also to walk around my parents old home was lovely.Usk hasn't changed at all, it still retains it's wonderful charm and all the beautiful flowers as usual. We decided to stay at the Greyhound inn and Hotel. This is a beautiful olde worlde hotel, higgledy piggley rooms and beautifully kept grounds are a delight. Our room was a dog friendly room, no5, although we didnt bring Bryn along with us it is ideal as the room has patio doors opening up onto a beautiful fountain and your own table and chairs outside. Beautiful and clean, bathroom a little dated, but spotless.Very nice staff,good food and a wonderful atmosphere.Large breakfast in the morning. We wish Kelly and Steve the new owners all the very best for the future. Thank you Kelly for taking care of us here and if we are in the area again we will definateley stay here again

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.We really do appreciate it and it was really lovely to meet you both.Hope to meet Bryn one day.Take care of yourselves and thank you for choosing to stay with us.Best wishesKelly. Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs F | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 1 night, we had a ground floor room with its own seating outside area which was lovely for relaxing, a bit of traffic noise but you soon got used to this and the water feature did help disguise the take your mind away from the traffic noise. Room was very comfy and we hadgreat nights sleep.Staff were very friendly and the pub food was great.Will definitely be staying here again as a good area to visit local tourist spots.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review for us, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Gary B | Sun 12th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Greyhound Inn ,for one ,the room was very comfortable and very welcoming after a long drive. We would recommend the evening meals, we found the menu very good catering for everyone's needs. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:ANTHONY S | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

It was the most perfect stay for guests with dogs in a very hot summer - as the rooms lead directly into the beautiful gardens and terraces to sit and have dinner outside. It was bliss. The guests were lovely and friendly - great atmosphere, good food and efficient. The staff could not have been kinder and more helpful and welcoming. Will definitely come back.

Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.We do appreciate it and do hope that you come back to visit us again soon.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:E | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely garden room - Rating 5/5

very friendly staff. Comfortable room opening directly onto the garden. Great for our dog, who particularly liked her treat .

Response

Hi Nicko. thanks for taking the time to post a great review, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Nicko K | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

On arrival we were met with a very picturesque, country side Inn, in with well presented grounds. The accommodation was very clean and spacious and the evening meal was excellent. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Overall an excellent stay.

Response

Thank you so much Graham for taking the time to post such a lovely review.It really is appreciated and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope to see you again in the future.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Graham B | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Recent stay at the Greyhound Inn - Rating 4/5

The Positives:Lovely attentive owners and staffVery nice foodOutdoor space lovelyBed comfyDog friendlySuggested Imprvements:General modernisation, especially bathroomMore choice on dinner menuStocking large mineral water - just our preference

Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us Laura and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.As we have only been here a year, it does take a while to work our way around to modernise things.Whilst we do need to keep the Inn very traditional, we do intend on investing in the bathrooms.It all takes time though, as I know you will appreciate.Thank you again for your feedback and it was lovely to meet you all.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team

Reviewer:Laura w | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Gem - Rating 5/5

What a really lovely place to stay, wonderful host,Kelly, who was so thoughtful and kind. This is a now definite stop over when in area. Everything excellent.

Response

Ahh thank you so much for your lovely comments Nigel and it is great to know that you will be back to see us again.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team

Reviewer:Nigel P | Wed 7th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


A great place - Rating 5/5

What a find , love everything about this place and wont hesitate to go again when we are next in the area. Good value,lovely people,good service and lovely and clean ,cant fault it .

Response

Thanks so much Martin for taking the time to post such a lovely review.We really do appreciate it.It was great to meet you and hope to see you again soon.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team

Reviewer:martin k | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


A great place - Rating 5/5

What a find , love everything about this place and wont hesitate to go again when we are next in the area. Good value,lovely people,good service and lovely and clean ,cant fault it .Very pet friendly thankyou

Reviewer:martin k | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Don\'t hesitate to stay here - Rating 5/5

Lovely atmosphere. Great staff, friendly and with great advice on things to do. Comfortable and quiet.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both and hope that we see you again in the summer.Take careKelly

Reviewer:Chantel P | Wed 14th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


excellent all round - Rating 5/5

this was a very good experience and would recommend to anyone.

Response

Thanks Roy for taking the time to post this review and for your recommendation.Really appreciate it and hope to see you back again soon.Kelly

Reviewer:ROY P | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


What a lovely place. - Rating 4/5

Came to watch the rugby with my son. Lovely warm welcome from the owner Kelly even though we turned up early after travelling from Essex. The inn is a really interesting higgledypiggledy stone building. The staff were fabulouslyfriendly and helpful which made the trip so enjoyable. Food was top notch with a wide variety available in a warm n friendly environment . We were stuffed after our tasty dinner. Nice real ale on sale and a fair choice of other beers, wines n spirits. And, although the bathroom was smallish it was functional and the bedroom was comfortable. The Greyhound is positioned in lovely scenery with great looking gardens and a huge fountain. Bet it’s beautiful in the summer. Definitely will return.

Response

Lovely review Peter, thank you, we really do appreciate it.We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you do come back in the summer to appreciate the gardens, they really are stunning, when the sun is out.Take care and best wishesKelly

Reviewer:Peter S | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Great location, fantastic food and staff - Rating 5/5

This stay was great value, accommodation was well equipped included toiletries, drinks making facilities and biscuits and chocolate in the room. Welcome on arrival was really friendly by Kelly the owner., there were roaring fires and a great selection of drinks and food. The Food was fantastic and great value, could only manage a main course so missed out on the desserts which again had a great selection to choose from.

Reviewer:Carole S | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Dog freindly- Rating 4/5

Excellent value for money, good food and nice rooms. Staff were all very welcoming and pleasant. Close to main road so traffic noise outside but fine in room. The setting is really nice and I would definitely stay again.Great for when travelling with a dog - places set aside for evening meal and breakfast with your dog and treats and fusses from the staff - close to nice dog walks too.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review.We do really appreciate it and hope to see you back soon.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:George O | Fri 26th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


This is the place to stay!! - Rating 5/5

Right from booking the rooms our experience was a helpful and pleasant one.The rooms are clean, well laid out with ample facilities and very comfy.It was a bit chilly (possibly me - I feel the cold) but a heater was supplied so this was not a problem.The food was excellent and plentiful, I couldn't finish my evening meal and breakfast service was quick and again the food delicious.I would love to stay here again and will definitely be back.The team here at The Greyhound have it just right, good food, good accommodation and good service!Well done.

Response

Thank you so much Helen for taking the time to post such a lovely review.We do really appreciate it and we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay so much with us.Really hope to see you again.Take care and Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team.

Reviewer:Helen R | Wed 24th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Nostalgic Evening - Rating 5/5

After not visiting the Greyhound for forty years I wondered what I would find.We found a warm welcome with excellent service accompanied by a most enjoyable meal and comfortable accommodation.Thank you

Reviewer:Rachel B | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Welcoming retreat. - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have stayed at The Greyhound Inn on several occasions with our dog. Each room has always been very clean and charming with bowls, a towel and treats provided for our dog as well! The staff are always friendly and welcoming and always have time for a chat.The breakfast is amazing, offering a varied choice including a vegetarian and continental selection. We have also dined in the pub on an evening and have never been disappointed.The grounds are kept beautifully and at night the garden is quite magical. The new proprietors Kelly and Steve have made some nice little subtle changes to this established little gem in the Welsh countryside. We always look forward to our stay and would highly recommend a visit.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your lovely comments and hope to see you back at the Greyhound Inn soon.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team

Reviewer:Debra O | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


You will not find better. - Rating 5/5

This Inn would be the best we have stayed at for years,every member of staff could not be more helpful,its a great base to explore the local areas and return to a evening pub meal,the rooms are very clean and cosy.breakfast was well above what you would expect for Inn,we cant speak highly enough of the staff,rooms,food,and the owners,they could teach many hotels etc how to make customers feel wanted and cared about,for customer services you can not beat them.even our dogs were catered for,we ll be back for sure,

Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We really appreciate itIt really was lovely to meet you all and we really hope that you do come back to see us.Take care and thank you again.

Reviewer:paul s | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


COLDPLAY CONCERT CARDIFF - Rating 5/5

BEAUTIFUL SETTINGEXTREMELY COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATIONEXCELLENT FOODVERY FRIENDLY STAFFWOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN

Response

Thanks for taking the time to post a review Stuart.It was great to meet you and hope you do come back to stay in the future.Take careKelly

Reviewer:stuart h | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent Hotel- Rating 5/5

Great staff, great food, great accommodation

Reviewer:Gerald W | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Last minute decision to stay overnight - Rating 4/5

Have been using The Greyhound for 25 years and, as always, the food was excellent.Room very comfortable (good nights sleep).

Response

Thanks John.Here\\\'s to the next 25 years.Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Always appreciated.Best wishesKellyOwnerThe Greyhound Inn & Hotel

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Always Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Always enjoy staying here, whether business or pleasure. Have been staying here since 1992 and Nick has never failed to make the stays enjoyable, whether it be the food (wonderful) or drink (extremely drinkable) or the ambience (staff are always welcoming, and Robin is a delight).

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Sat 21st Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


A little jewel of a hotel - Rating 5/5

We stay here one night a week for work and bring our dog. From every aspect it is the most lovley place to stay. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is wonderful and good value. The rooms are cosy, comfy and feel like a second home home. For its price range I could not recommend it more highly. If you want the Hilton or a boutique spa this hotel is not for you but but if you want clean, cosy place to stay with great pub food and a warm welcome for excellent value look no further .

Reviewer:Helena S | Sun 8th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


5 stars - Rating 5/5

What an amazing place to stay! The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The pub itself is so welcoming with great food and lovely staff. Without a doubt we'll be back to stay!

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca Williams| Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic as always- Rating 5/5

Another beautiful stay at the greyhound. Looking forward to next time.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Griffiths| Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful Hospitality - Rating 5/5

I have been using the Greyhound Inn for over 20 years.The food and drink never fail to be amazing (the steak &Ale pie is always superb!).The rooms are comfortable and, as a whole, the value for money is very good.

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Sat 3rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


I will be back - Rating 4/5

A well appointed comfortable room, a friendly barman, a good breakfast and exceptional value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew C | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely but short stay at this hotel.The Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was beautiful.Unfortunately we wish we could have longer to stay and enjoyed the dinning facilities and local area.We would also like to thank you for sending my Mother in Law fleece to us after left in the wardrobe.

Reviewer:Mrs. Paula L | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Stop over - Rating 5/5

Very good accommodation and good food.Friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles W | Tue 12th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


a place to go back to - Rating 4/5

Verry friendly People the make you feel welcome and relaxt.The room was clean and comftable and had all we need for a couple good nights sleep.I can definitely recommend this for everyone hwo loocking for a hotel around usk.Greetings from Belgium

Reviewer:Mr. Dirk V | Thu 7th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Friendly hotel with character. - Rating 5/5

Stayed here as attending party in the area. Very friendly and helpful staff;spacious, pleasant room;excellent breakfast;plenty of parking. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Miss. Katrina B | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


a few days in Wales - Rating 5/5

excellent inn with first class rooms and with a very good restaurant

Reviewer:Mr. Royston B | Sat 11th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Yet another return visit! - Rating 4/5

We received a warm welcome as we have experienced several times before. Room was clean and comfortable although bathroom was cramped and dated.The food was very good indeed. Definitely a place to have on the list of 'good to visit'.

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela R | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Very nice stay and warm welcome.Food excellent and accomadation good.

Reviewer:Tenby Golf C | Fri 15th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Mr and Mrs - Rating 4/5

We had a great welcome from the ownerfor our stay. The food was excellent and served by very courteousand helpful staff.The bars and restaurant were well decorated for the festive seasonThe accommodation was very clean and comfortable..Would definitely recomend.Very good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr G | Sun 13th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Yet another great stay at our favourite pub/restaurant. Looking forward to our next trip over there.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul G | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Beautiful old world hotel with excellent dining - Rating 5/5

We eat here quite often and we have never had a bad experience. The food is sourced with care and cooked and presented to a high standard. We decided to stay and relax this time and we did not regret it. The rooms are simple, spotless and exceptionally comfortable. The owner and staff are friendly and efficient and welcomed our wee dog to stay and accompany us while eating.

Reviewer:Ms. Maura H | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


The Greyhound - 2 night break - Rating 5/5

First class and attentive service .Excellent breakfast - including the entertainment provided by Robin ! Evening meals also very good and portions generous - too much for us ! Overall a very enjoyable break which was very good value for money and Alfie was blissfully unaware of any fireworks !

Response

Dear Mr House,Thank you for your kind review. Its always nice to hear off our customers. Glad to hear that Alfie was just as happy with his little break as you and that all of you had a lovely stay. Robin is quite the character and if you return to the Greyhound Inn he will put on a repeat show for you. See you soon.Kind regards,Steve

Reviewer:Mr. gordon h | Fri 13th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Cannot fault the greyhound inn. Food was excellent, staff really friendly, location beautiful and 100% all round satisfied!! My partner and I are already planning our next jaunt there!! Many, many thanks and looking forward to staying at the greyhound again.

Response

Hi Paul,Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I notice that you have booked to come again already which is brilliant. We look forward to seeing you again and hope your next stay is just as enjoyable as the last.Kind regards,Steve

Reviewer:Mr. Paul G | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Ironing Service
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat