Reviews



Returning to Usk - Rating 4/5

Visiting the last of my mothers sisters in Cardiff and also to walk around my parents old home was lovely.Usk hasn't changed at all, it still retains it's wonderful charm and all the beautiful flowers as usual. We decided to stay at the Greyhound inn and Hotel. This is a beautiful olde worlde hotel, higgledy piggley rooms and beautifully kept grounds are a delight. Our room was a dog friendly room, no5, although we didnt bring Bryn along with us it is ideal as the room has patio doors opening up onto a beautiful fountain and your own table and chairs outside. Beautiful and clean, bathroom a little dated, but spotless.Very nice staff,good food and a wonderful atmosphere.Large breakfast in the morning. We wish Kelly and Steve the new owners all the very best for the future. Thank you Kelly for taking care of us here and if we are in the area again we will definateley stay here again

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.We really do appreciate it and it was really lovely to meet you both.Hope to meet Bryn one day.Take care of yourselves and thank you for choosing to stay with us.Best wishesKelly. Steve and the rest of The Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs F | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 6 days ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 1 night, we had a ground floor room with its own seating outside area which was lovely for relaxing, a bit of traffic noise but you soon got used to this and the water feature did help disguise the take your mind away from the traffic noise. Room was very comfy and we hadgreat nights sleep.Staff were very friendly and the pub food was great.Will definitely be staying here again as a good area to visit local tourist spots.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review for us, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Gary B | Sun 12th Aug 2018 | 1 week ago


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Greyhound Inn ,for one ,the room was very comfortable and very welcoming after a long drive. We would recommend the evening meals, we found the menu very good catering for everyone's needs. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:ANTHONY S | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

It was the most perfect stay for guests with dogs in a very hot summer - as the rooms lead directly into the beautiful gardens and terraces to sit and have dinner outside. It was bliss. The guests were lovely and friendly - great atmosphere, good food and efficient. The staff could not have been kinder and more helpful and welcoming. Will definitely come back.

Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.We do appreciate it and do hope that you come back to visit us again soon.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:E | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely garden room - Rating 5/5

very friendly staff. Comfortable room opening directly onto the garden. Great for our dog, who particularly liked her treat .

Response

Hi Nicko. thanks for taking the time to post a great review, we really do appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the future.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Nicko K | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

On arrival we were met with a very picturesque, country side Inn, in with well presented grounds. The accommodation was very clean and spacious and the evening meal was excellent. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Overall an excellent stay.

Response

Thank you so much Graham for taking the time to post such a lovely review.It really is appreciated and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope to see you again in the future.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:Graham B | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Recent stay at the Greyhound Inn - Rating 4/5

The Positives:Lovely attentive owners and staffVery nice foodOutdoor space lovelyBed comfyDog friendlySuggested Imprvements:General modernisation, especially bathroomMore choice on dinner menuStocking large mineral water - just our preference

Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us Laura and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.As we have only been here a year, it does take a while to work our way around to modernise things.Whilst we do need to keep the Inn very traditional, we do intend on investing in the bathrooms.It all takes time though, as I know you will appreciate.Thank you again for your feedback and it was lovely to meet you all.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team

Reviewer:Laura w | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 4 months ago


Gem - Rating 5/5

What a really lovely place to stay, wonderful host,Kelly, who was so thoughtful and kind. This is a now definite stop over when in area. Everything excellent.

Response

Ahh thank you so much for your lovely comments Nigel and it is great to know that you will be back to see us again.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team

Reviewer:Nigel P | Wed 7th Mar 2018 | 5 months ago


A great place - Rating 5/5

What a find , love everything about this place and wont hesitate to go again when we are next in the area. Good value,lovely people,good service and lovely and clean ,cant fault it .

Response

Thanks so much Martin for taking the time to post such a lovely review.We really do appreciate it.It was great to meet you and hope to see you again soon.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team

Reviewer:martin k | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 5 months ago


Don\'t hesitate to stay here - Rating 5/5

Lovely atmosphere. Great staff, friendly and with great advice on things to do. Comfortable and quiet.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both and hope that we see you again in the summer.Take careKelly

Reviewer:Chantel P | Wed 14th Feb 2018 | 6 months ago


excellent all round - Rating 5/5

this was a very good experience and would recommend to anyone.

Response

Thanks Roy for taking the time to post this review and for your recommendation.Really appreciate it and hope to see you back again soon.Kelly

Reviewer:ROY P | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 6 months ago


What a lovely place. - Rating 4/5

Came to watch the rugby with my son. Lovely warm welcome from the owner Kelly even though we turned up early after travelling from Essex. The inn is a really interesting higgledypiggledy stone building. The staff were fabulouslyfriendly and helpful which made the trip so enjoyable. Food was top notch with a wide variety available in a warm n friendly environment . We were stuffed after our tasty dinner. Nice real ale on sale and a fair choice of other beers, wines n spirits. And, although the bathroom was smallish it was functional and the bedroom was comfortable. The Greyhound is positioned in lovely scenery with great looking gardens and a huge fountain. Bet it’s beautiful in the summer. Definitely will return.

Response

Lovely review Peter, thank you, we really do appreciate it.We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you do come back in the summer to appreciate the gardens, they really are stunning, when the sun is out.Take care and best wishesKelly

Reviewer:Peter S | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 6 months ago


Great place to stay - Dog freindly- Rating 4/5

Excellent value for money, good food and nice rooms. Staff were all very welcoming and pleasant. Close to main road so traffic noise outside but fine in room. The setting is really nice and I would definitely stay again.Great for when travelling with a dog - places set aside for evening meal and breakfast with your dog and treats and fusses from the staff - close to nice dog walks too.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review.We do really appreciate it and hope to see you back soon.Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the Greyhound Team X

Reviewer:George O | Fri 26th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


This is the place to stay!! - Rating 5/5

Right from booking the rooms our experience was a helpful and pleasant one.The rooms are clean, well laid out with ample facilities and very comfy.It was a bit chilly (possibly me - I feel the cold) but a heater was supplied so this was not a problem.The food was excellent and plentiful, I couldn't finish my evening meal and breakfast service was quick and again the food delicious.I would love to stay here again and will definitely be back.The team here at The Greyhound have it just right, good food, good accommodation and good service!Well done.

Response

Thank you so much Helen for taking the time to post such a lovely review.We do really appreciate it and we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay so much with us.Really hope to see you again.Take care and Best WishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team.

Reviewer:Helen R | Wed 24th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


Nostalgic Evening - Rating 5/5

After not visiting the Greyhound for forty years I wondered what I would find.We found a warm welcome with excellent service accompanied by a most enjoyable meal and comfortable accommodation.Thank you

Reviewer:Rachel B | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 8 months ago


Welcoming retreat. - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have stayed at The Greyhound Inn on several occasions with our dog. Each room has always been very clean and charming with bowls, a towel and treats provided for our dog as well! The staff are always friendly and welcoming and always have time for a chat.The breakfast is amazing, offering a varied choice including a vegetarian and continental selection. We have also dined in the pub on an evening and have never been disappointed.The grounds are kept beautifully and at night the garden is quite magical. The new proprietors Kelly and Steve have made some nice little subtle changes to this established little gem in the Welsh countryside. We always look forward to our stay and would highly recommend a visit.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your lovely comments and hope to see you back at the Greyhound Inn soon.Best wishesKelly, Steve and the rest of the team

Reviewer:Debra O | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 10 months ago


You will not find better. - Rating 5/5

This Inn would be the best we have stayed at for years,every member of staff could not be more helpful,its a great base to explore the local areas and return to a evening pub meal,the rooms are very clean and cosy.breakfast was well above what you would expect for Inn,we cant speak highly enough of the staff,rooms,food,and the owners,they could teach many hotels etc how to make customers feel wanted and cared about,for customer services you can not beat them.even our dogs were catered for,we ll be back for sure,

Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We really appreciate itIt really was lovely to meet you all and we really hope that you do come back to see us.Take care and thank you again.

Reviewer:paul s | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


COLDPLAY CONCERT CARDIFF - Rating 5/5

BEAUTIFUL SETTINGEXTREMELY COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATIONEXCELLENT FOODVERY FRIENDLY STAFFWOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN

Response

Thanks for taking the time to post a review Stuart.It was great to meet you and hope you do come back to stay in the future.Take careKelly

Reviewer:stuart h | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Hotel- Rating 5/5

Great staff, great food, great accommodation

Reviewer:Gerald W | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Last minute decision to stay overnight - Rating 4/5

Have been using The Greyhound for 25 years and, as always, the food was excellent.Room very comfortable (good nights sleep).

Response

Thanks John.Here\\\'s to the next 25 years.Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Always appreciated.Best wishesKellyOwnerThe Greyhound Inn & Hotel

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Always Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Always enjoy staying here, whether business or pleasure. Have been staying here since 1992 and Nick has never failed to make the stays enjoyable, whether it be the food (wonderful) or drink (extremely drinkable) or the ambience (staff are always welcoming, and Robin is a delight).

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Sat 21st Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


A little jewel of a hotel - Rating 5/5

We stay here one night a week for work and bring our dog. From every aspect it is the most lovley place to stay. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is wonderful and good value. The rooms are cosy, comfy and feel like a second home home. For its price range I could not recommend it more highly. If you want the Hilton or a boutique spa this hotel is not for you but but if you want clean, cosy place to stay with great pub food and a warm welcome for excellent value look no further .

Reviewer:Helena S | Sun 8th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


5 stars - Rating 5/5

What an amazing place to stay! The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The pub itself is so welcoming with great food and lovely staff. Without a doubt we'll be back to stay!

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca Williams| Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Fantastic as always- Rating 5/5

Another beautiful stay at the greyhound. Looking forward to next time.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Griffiths| Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Hospitality - Rating 5/5

I have been using the Greyhound Inn for over 20 years.The food and drink never fail to be amazing (the steak &Ale pie is always superb!).The rooms are comfortable and, as a whole, the value for money is very good.

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Sat 3rd Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


I will be back - Rating 4/5

A well appointed comfortable room, a friendly barman, a good breakfast and exceptional value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew C | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely but short stay at this hotel.The Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was beautiful.Unfortunately we wish we could have longer to stay and enjoyed the dinning facilities and local area.We would also like to thank you for sending my Mother in Law fleece to us after left in the wardrobe.

Reviewer:Mrs. Paula L | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Stop over - Rating 5/5

Very good accommodation and good food.Friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles W | Tue 12th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


a place to go back to - Rating 4/5

Verry friendly People the make you feel welcome and relaxt.The room was clean and comftable and had all we need for a couple good nights sleep.I can definitely recommend this for everyone hwo loocking for a hotel around usk.Greetings from Belgium

Reviewer:Mr. Dirk V | Thu 7th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Friendly hotel with character. - Rating 5/5

Stayed here as attending party in the area. Very friendly and helpful staff;spacious, pleasant room;excellent breakfast;plenty of parking. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Miss. Katrina B | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


a few days in Wales - Rating 5/5

excellent inn with first class rooms and with a very good restaurant

Reviewer:Mr. Royston B | Sat 11th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Yet another return visit! - Rating 4/5

We received a warm welcome as we have experienced several times before. Room was clean and comfortable although bathroom was cramped and dated.The food was very good indeed. Definitely a place to have on the list of 'good to visit'.

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela R | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Very nice stay and warm welcome.Food excellent and accomadation good.

Reviewer:Tenby Golf C | Fri 15th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Mr and Mrs - Rating 4/5

We had a great welcome from the ownerfor our stay. The food was excellent and served by very courteousand helpful staff.The bars and restaurant were well decorated for the festive seasonThe accommodation was very clean and comfortable..Would definitely recomend.Very good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr G | Sun 13th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Yet another great stay at our favourite pub/restaurant. Looking forward to our next trip over there.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul G | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Beautiful old world hotel with excellent dining - Rating 5/5

We eat here quite often and we have never had a bad experience. The food is sourced with care and cooked and presented to a high standard. We decided to stay and relax this time and we did not regret it. The rooms are simple, spotless and exceptionally comfortable. The owner and staff are friendly and efficient and welcomed our wee dog to stay and accompany us while eating.

Reviewer:Ms. Maura H | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


The Greyhound - 2 night break - Rating 5/5

First class and attentive service .Excellent breakfast - including the entertainment provided by Robin ! Evening meals also very good and portions generous - too much for us ! Overall a very enjoyable break which was very good value for money and Alfie was blissfully unaware of any fireworks !

Response

Dear Mr House,Thank you for your kind review. Its always nice to hear off our customers. Glad to hear that Alfie was just as happy with his little break as you and that all of you had a lovely stay. Robin is quite the character and if you return to the Greyhound Inn he will put on a repeat show for you. See you soon.Kind regards,Steve

Reviewer:Mr. gordon h | Fri 13th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Cannot fault the greyhound inn. Food was excellent, staff really friendly, location beautiful and 100% all round satisfied!! My partner and I are already planning our next jaunt there!! Many, many thanks and looking forward to staying at the greyhound again.

Response

Hi Paul,Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I notice that you have booked to come again already which is brilliant. We look forward to seeing you again and hope your next stay is just as enjoyable as the last.Kind regards,Steve

Reviewer:Mr. Paul G | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Ironing Service
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat